clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

KENTUCKY DERBY 2011: A schedule for the week ahead

New, 21 comments
LOUISVILLE, KY - APRIL 29:  A horse is taken to the track during the morning exercise session at Churchill Downs on April 29, 2011 in Louisville, Kentucky.  (Photo by Matthew Stockman/Getty Images)
LOUISVILLE, KY - APRIL 29: A horse is taken to the track during the morning exercise session at Churchill Downs on April 29, 2011 in Louisville, Kentucky. (Photo by Matthew Stockman/Getty Images)
Getty Images

The 2011 Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs is just six short days away. Below is a summary of what to expect on the site in the final days leading to this year's Derby:

Tuesday, May 3rd

  • Breaking down the prep races: A review of what happened this spring leading up to this year's Derby and an analysis of which prep races appeared to be the strongest.
Wednesday, May 4th
  • Live blog of the post position draw (5:00 Eastern / 2:00 Pacific).
  • Entries, post positions and morning line re-cap.
  • Interview with three-time Kentucky Derby winning jockey Gary Stevens (transcript will be posted Wednesday evening).

    Gary Stevens is currently a racing analyst with HRTV, NBC Sports, and TwinSpires.com, the official on-line betting site of Churchill Downs and the Kentucky Derby. It is free, legal and easy to sign-up and get your bet down on the Kentucky Derby. Sign-up today and get a $100 bonus.
Thursday, May 5th
  • Kentucky Oaks Preview and Picks: A horse-by-horse look at the 2011 Kentucky Oaks.
  • Derby Under card Preview: A in-depth look at each of the stakes races slated to run before Saturday's Kentucky Derby.
Friday, May 6th
  • Oaks Day Open Thread and Live Blog (Oaks post time: 5:24 Eastern / 2:24 Pacific)
  • Kentucky Derby Preview, Picks and Bets: A horse-by-horse look at the 137th running of the Kentucky Derby, along with selections and wagering ideas.
Saturday, May 7th
  • 2011 Kentucky Derby Open Thread and Live Blog (Derby post time: 6:24 Eastern / 3:24 Pacific)
Sunday, May 8th
  • 2011 Kentucky Derby Re-cap: A horse-by-horse review of the Derby.