clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ARLINGTON MILLION 2011: Entries, Post Positions and Morning Line Odds

Cape Blanco
Cape Blanco

Cape Blanco (IRE) and Gio Ponti lead a field of ten for this Saturday's Grade 1 Arlington Million (post time 5:15 Central), part of the Arlington International Festival of Racing at Arlington Park.  The Grade 1 Secretariat Stakes (post time 3:52 Central) and Beverly D. (post time 4:33 Central) will precede the Million.

I'm heading to Vegas tomorrow morning for the next four days, so my posting will be somewhat sporadic since I'll be spending most of my time glued to a seat at the racebook.

PP Horse Jockey Trainer ML
1 Rahystrada S. Russell B. Hughes 12/1
2 Tajaweed J. Graham D. Peitz 12/1
3 Dean's Kitten J. Leparoux M. Maker 30/1
4 Zack Hall (FR) C. Soumillon D. Delzangles 10/1
5 Gio Ponti R. Dominguez C. Clement 2/1
6 Proceed Bee C. Emigh S. Becker 50/1
7 Cape Blanco (IRE) J. Spencer A. O'Brien 9/5
8 Mission Approved J. Espinoza N. Chatterpaul 8/1
9 Wigmore Hall (IRE) H. Turner M. Bell 8/1
10 General Perfect G. Gomez G. Thompson 50/1


Entries for the Beverly D. and Secretariat are below the jump.

Stacelita (FR) leads the Beverly D. group and should be very tough to beat, assuming jockey Ramon Dominguez gives her a better ride than Joe Bravo did in the United Nations in her North American debut.  Stacelita is a multiple Group 1 winner in Europe who finished 3rd (beaten a length) against the colts at Monmouth Park.

PP Horse Jockey Trainer ML
1 Stacelita (FR) R. Dominguez C. Brown 3/1
2 Check the Label J. Leparoux G. Motion 20/1
3 Fantasia (GB) R. Maragh J. Sheppard 6/1
4 Upperline J. Graham M. Stidham 20/1
5 Dubawi Heights (GB) J. Rosario S. Callaghan 10/1
6 River Jetez (SAF) C. Soumillon M. de Kock 4/1
7 Cheetah (GB) G. Gomez C. Clement 9/2
8 Pachattack F. Geroux G. Butler 10/1
9 Eclair de Lune (GER) J. Alvarado R. McAnally 12/1
10 Romin Robin J. Santana D. Kassen 30/1
11 Never Retreat S. Bridgmohan C. Block 10/1


The Secretariat features a couple of very nice European shippers in Irish Derby winner Treasure Beach (GB) and G3-Prix Daphnis winner Ziyarid (IRE). 

PP Horse Trainer Jockey ML
1 Newsdad J. Rosario W. Mott 10/1
2 Ziyarid (IRE) C. Lemarie A. De Royer-Dupre 10/1
3 Treasure Beach (GB) C. O'Donoghue A. O'Brien 2/1
4 Crimson China R. Maragh G. Motion 15/1
5 Casino Host R. Dominguez C. Brown 8/1
6 Suntracer S. Bridgmohan C. Block 15/1
7 Banned G. Gomez T. Proctor 3/1
8 Derby Kitten J. Leparoux M. Maker 15/1
9 Wilcox Inn R. Albarado M. Stidham 9/2
10 L'Aigion F. Geroux G. Dorochenko 50/1