clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

St. Leger Results: Masked Marvel Prevails at Doncaster; Dead-Heat at the Curragh

Masked Marvel (GB), 2011 Ladbrokes St. Leger Stakes winner.
Masked Marvel (GB), 2011 Ladbrokes St. Leger Stakes winner.

Two Group 1 St. Leger Stakes took place this morning in Europe; the Group 1 Ladbrokes St. Leger at Doncatster in England, and the Group 1 Irish Field St. Leger at the Curragh.

A thrilling stretch duel at the Curragh saw Duncan (GB) and Jukebox Jury (IRE) finish in a dead-heat in the Irish Field St. Leger. A short time earlier at Doncaster, Masked Marvel (GB) upset favorite Sea Moon (GB) to win the Ladbrokes St. Leger.

In the race prior to the Irish St. Leger, Aidan O'Brien's Power (GB) won the Group 1 National Stakes for two-year-olds at seven furlongs. The National Stakes has an impressive list of winners over the past decade, including: New Approach (IRE) (2008 Epsom Derby winner), Teofilo (IRE), George Washington (IRE) and Sinndar (IRE) (winner of the Epsom Derby, Irish Derby and Prix de l'Arch de Triomphe in 2000).

The National Stakes is a Breeders' Cup "Win and You're In" race; no word yet on whether Aidan O'Brien plans to send Power to Churchill Downs in November.