clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe: A Field Of 18

The 2012 Epsom Derby winner and the 2011 Japanese Triple Crown champion lead a probable field of 18 in the 2012 Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe at Longchamp.

Bryn Lennon - Getty Images

A field of 18 colts, fillies and mares will comprise the 2012 Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe at Longchamp on Sunday, led by 2011 Japanese Triple Crown winner Orfevre (JPN) and 2012 Epsom Derby winner Camelot (GB). Noticeably absent from the race are Snow Fairy (IRE), Nathaniel (IRE) and 2011 Arc winner Danedream (GER).

Among horses expected to enter when the runners are finalized on Friday are:

Bayrir (FR): Winner of the G1-Secretariat Stakes on Arlington Million Day.

Shareta (IRE): Winner of the G1-Prix Vermeille and the G1-Yorkshire Oaks in her last two starts.

Meandre (FR): Second to Orfevre by two lengths last time out in the G2-Prix Foy.

St. Nicholas Abbey (IRE): Winner of the G1-Diamond Jubilee Cup at Epsom on June 2nd, 3rd to Frankel in the G1-Juddomnte International and 3rd to Snow Fairy in the G1-Irish Champion Stakes.

Great Heavens (GB): A late addition to the race and the winner of four straight races, including the G1-Irish Oaks at the Curragh on July 22nd and the G2-Lancashire Oaks at Haydock on July 7th. Great Heavens has run well over soft ground in previous races and will receive a significant weight allowance as a three-year-old filly.

Sea Moon (GB): Winner of the G2-Hardwicke Stakes at Royal Ascot on June 23rd and recently 5th in the G1-King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes behind Danedream, Nathaniel, St. Nicholas Abbey and Reliable Man (GB).

Mikhail Glinka (IRE): Winner of the G3-Preis der Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe at Baden-Baden in Germany on August 25th.

2012 G1-Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe
# Horse Trainer Best
1 Sea Moon (GB) M. Stoute 10/1
2 St Nicholas Abbey (IRE) A. O'Brien 11/1
3 Meandre (FR) A. Fabre 16/1
4 Mikhail Glinka (IRE) A. Savujev 80/1
5 Robin Hood (IRE) A. O'Brien 250/1
6 Orfevre (JPN) Y. Ikee 3/1
7 Aventino (JPN) Y. Ikee 250/1
8 Shareta (IRE) A. De Royer-Dupre 9/1
9 Haya Landa (FR) A. Audon 150/1
10 Solemia (IRE) C. Laffon-Parias 50/1
11 Kesampour (FR) M. Delzangles 40/1
12 Camelot (GB) A. O'Brien 3/1
13 Masterstroke A. Fabre 10/1
14 Ernest Hemingway (IRE) A. O'Brien 100/1
15 Bayrir (FR) A. De Royer-Dupre 16/1
16 Saonois (FR) J-P Gauvin 8/1
17 Yellow And Green (GB) N. Clement 28/1
18 Great Heavens (GB) J. Gosden 12/1