clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Southwest Stakes: Entries and Post Positions

Getty Images

Twenty-one horses entered the 2012 Grade 3 Southwest Stakes at Oaklawn Park, causing track officials to split the race into two divisions. Each race will both carry the same graded status, as well as a $250,000 purse. The divisions will run as Race 8 and Race 9 (Post times: 4:41 and 5:15 Central; TV; TVG, HRTV) on Monday's Oaklawn Park card.

Junebugred, winner of the Smarty Jones Stakes at Oaklawn on January 16th is one of 11 entries in the first division of the Southwest. He'll be joined by the runner-up in the Smarty Jones, Reckless Jerry, along with an intriguing entry from trainer Steven Asmussen, Unbridled's Note.

Breeders' Cup Juvenile Sprint winner Secret Circle leads the field in the 2nd division of the Southwest. He finished 2nd in the G3-Sham Stakes at Santa Anita back on January 7th in his first attempt at two turns.

Oaklawn Park is offering a special Southwest Stakes Daily Double beginning with the running of the first division.

Below are the entries and post positions for the Southwest Stakes. I'll have a preview of each division on Sunday afternoon.

Race 8 - Post Time: 4:41pm Central
PP Horse Jockey Trainer ML
1 Red Jack J. Court D.W. Lukas
2 Unbridled's Note J. Leparoux S. Asmussen
3 Jake Mo M. Berry A. Milligan
4 Majestic Stride C. Marquez, Jr. J. Bonde
5 Longview Drive M. Garcia J. Hollendorfer
6 Junebugered J. Bravo S. Hobby
7 No Spin J. Graham T. Ice
8 Reckless Jerry S. Laviolette K. Smith
9 Ring It Up L. Wade C. Richard
10 Laurie's Rocket C. Borel D. Stewart
11 Castaway R. Bejarano B. Baffert
Race 9 - Post Time: 5:15pm Central
PP Horse Jockey Trainer ML
1 Z Rockstar M. Berry D. Von Hemel
2 Adirondak King S. Elliott J. Servis
3 Scatman L. Quinonez M. Lauer
4 Apprenhender I. Diego I. Mason
5 Chalybeate Springs C. Marquez, Jr. D.W. Lukas
6 Pee H Dee L. Wade C. Richard
7 Cyber Secret C. Hill L. Whiting
8 King Coral M. Escobar A. Milligan
9 Secret Circle R. Bejarano B. Baffert
10 Big Wednesday R. Vazquez J. Martin