clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sunland Park Derby 2013: Entries, Post Positions & Odds

Trainer Bob Baffert sends out a pair of runners in Sunday's Grade 3 Sunland Park Derby.

Bob Baffert rolls into Sunland Park with a pair of Derby hopefuls.
Bob Baffert rolls into Sunland Park with a pair of Derby hopefuls.
Jamie Squire

A field of nine, led by Bob Baffert's Shakin It Up, is set for the Grade 3 Sunland Park Derby on Sunday, March 24 (Post Time: 8:40 pm ET; TV: TVG) . Shakin It Up won the G2-San Vicente at Santa Anita Park back on Feb. 17 and was third in the G3-Hollwyood Prevue in late November. He's a son of Midnight Lute out of a Vindication mare (Silver Bullet Moon).

Among the horses joining Shakin It Up in the Sunland Derby are:

  • Abraham: A recent maiden winner for Pletcher/WinStar in the slop at Gulfstream Park.
  • Dry Summer: Winner of the local Mine That Bird Derby back on Feb. 23.
  • Saint Prado: A recent maiden breaker at Santa Anita; finished third in the Lost in the Fog Stakes at Golden Gate last June as a maiden.
  • Governor Charlie: Another Baffert trained son of Midnight Lute; broke his maiden at Santa Anita in mid-Feb in his second career start.

The Sunland Park Derby features an $800,000 purse, a sum of money that in prior years guaranteed the winner a place in the starting gate for the Kentucky Derby. The change to a points systems by Churchill Downs for the 2013 Derby rendered the purse amounts moot for Derby qualification but the Sunland Derby survived the change fairly well. Although the race is not part of the major final preps with a 100-40-20-10 point dispersal, the Sunland Derby is now part of the 50-20-10-5 races, which should ensure the winner a place in Kentucky.

Below are the entries and post positions for Sunday's G3-Sunland Park Derby:

PP Horse Jockey Trainer ML
1 Just Win Baby A. Quinonez O. Garcia 10/1
2 Abraham J. Velazquez T. Pletcher 4/1
3 Stormdriver R. Eikkleberry K. Eikleberry 12/1
4 Shakin It Up D. Flores B. Baffert 5/2
5 Saint Prado R. Bejarano J. Bonde 8/1
6 Dry Summer C. Madeira J. Marr 5/1
7 Govenor Charlie M. Garcia B. Baffert 6/1
8 Mudflats E. Maldonado D. O'Neill 6/1
9 Show Some Magic L. Contreras H. Dominguez 8/1