clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kentucky Derby 2013: Contender Standings

New, 18 comments

An updated look at the points standings for the 2013 Kentucky Derby after the running of the Blue Grass Stakes and Arkansas Derby on April 13.


With that last two major prep races in the books, the field for the 2013 Kentucky Derby is fairly well defined. There are still two Derby preps left on the calendar -- the Lexington and the Derby Trial -- both of which are worth 20-8-4-2 points to the top four finishers. As you can see from the chart below, several horses will have some incentive to try and pick up a few more points in order to get into the top 20.

Right now, 30 points gets a horse into the Derby, while the pack of horses at 20 points will be fighting it out over the last three weeks.

Below are the current standings after today's Derby prep races. These standings (as of now) do not break ties by the use of graded earning):

Rank Points Horse Trainer
1 150 Verrazano Todd Pletcher
150 Orb Shug McGaughey III
3 129 Goldencents Doug O'Neill
4 122 Java's War Ken McPeek
5 110 Revolutionary Todd Pletcher
110 Overanalyze Todd Pletcher
7 100 Lines of Battle Aiden O'Brien
8 70 Vyjack Rudy Rodriguez
9 60 Will Take Charge D. Wayne Lukas
10 50 Govenor Charlie Bob Baffert
50 Itsmyluckyday Eddie Plesa, Jr.
50 Black Onyx Kelly Breen
50 Palace Malice Todd Pletcher
14 44 Normandy Invasion Chad Brown
44 Frac Daddy Ken McPeek
16 42 Mylute Tom Amoss
17 36 Oxbow D. Wayne Lukas
18 30 Uncaptured Mark Casse
30 Super Ninety Nine Bob Baffert
30 Falling Sky John Terranova II
20 Code West Bob Baffert
20 West Hills Giant John Terranova II
20 Merit Man Bob Hess, Jr.
20 Departing Al Stall, Jr.
20 Den's Legacy Bob Baffert
20 Tiz a Minister Paul Aguirre
20 Charming Kitten Todd Pletcher
20 Carve Steve Asmussen
29 14 Golden Soul Dallas Stewart
30 13 Dynamic Sky Mark Casse
31 11 Speak Logistics Eddie Plesa, Jr.
32 10 Elnaawi Kiaran McLaughlin
10 Narvaez Agustin Bzera
10 Power Broker Bob Baffert
10 Abraham Todd Pletcher
10 Giant Finish Tony Dutrow
10 Rydilluc Gary Contessa
10 Mr. Palmer William Mott