clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Preakness 2013 Post Position Draw

New, 71 comments

The draw for the 138th Preakness will begin at 6:00 pm Eastern at Pimlico.


Orb's Final Workout & Trip to Pimlico, via America's Best Racing (

Kentucky Derby winner Orb is expected to lead a field of nine following tonight's Preakness post position draw at Pimlico Race Course. Among the other hoses expected to enter the Preakness field are:


Will Take Charge



Govenor Charlie



Titletown Five

Departing, Govenor Charlie and Titletown Five are the only non-Derby horses slated to run in the Preakness.

Departing clearly stands out as the best of the non-Derby starters following his nice win in the Illinois Derby and a good third place finish to Revolutionary and Mylute in the Louisiana Derby. Unfortunately, he won't sneak up on anybody on Saturday so be prepared to take less-than-ideal odds for this gelding to spring the upset.

Govenor Charlie was initially pointed towards the Derby but a foot injury caused him to miss significant training time and, ultimately, the Preakness became the target for Bob Baffert and Mike Pegram. It remains to be seen the level of fitness Govenor Charlie will bring to Pimlico.

Titletown Five jumps into the mix for D. Wayne Lukas but despite the cool name, his ability to run the distance will be severely tested on Saturday. He's tried routing in the G3-Derby Trial and the G2-Louisiana Derby and failed to produce a winning effort in either race. He's still eligible for N1X company (as are many of the colts in the Derby and Preakness) but was unable to win a ungraded stakes race at Oaklawn in early March. He needs to do a lot of improving prior to Saturday in order to have a legit chance.

Today's draw begins at 6:00 pm Eastern at Pimlico.

Below are the entries, post positions and morning line odds for the 2013 Preakness:

PP Horse Jockey Trainer ML
1 Orb J. Rosario S. McGuaghey Even
2 Goldencents K. Krigger D. O'Neill 8/1
3 Titletown Five J. Leparoux D.W. Lukas 30/1
4 Departing B. Hernandez, Jr. A. Stall, Jr. 6/1
5 Mylute R. Napravnik T. Amoss 5/1
6 Oxbow G. Stevens D.W. Lukas 15/1
7 Will Take Charge M. Smith D.W. Lukas 12/1
8 Govenor Charlie M. Garcia B. Baffert 12/1
9 Itsmyluckyday J. Velazquez E. Plesa, Jr. 10/1

The charts at Brisnet only go back to 1991, but here are the last 22 horses to draw the rail in the Preakness, their finishing position, odds, and the winner and winner's odds.

Year Horse Finish Odds Winner Odds Fav?
1991 Corporate Report 2nd 11.20 Hansel 9.10
1992 Agincourt 7th 70.10 Pine Bluff 3.50 Yes
1993 Personal Hope 4th 3.20 Prairie Bayou 2.20 Yes
1994 Tabasco Cat 1st 3.60 Tabasco Cat 3.60
1995 Itron 11th 81.00 Timber Country 1.90 Yes
1996 Allied Forces 8th 20.10 Louis Quatorez 8.50
1997 Jack At The Bank 10th 68.10 Silver Charm 3.10
1998 Spartan Cat 6th 98.80 Real Quiet 2.50
1999 Torrid Sand 11th 102.80 Charismatic 8.40
2000 Huge Hefner 6th 49.70 Red Bullet 6.20
2001 Marciano 7th 46.30 Point Given 2.30 Yes
2002 USS Tinosa 6th 10.20 War Emblem 2.80 Yes
2003 Cherokee's Boy 8th 9.70 Funny Cide 1.90 Yes
2004 Lion Heart 4th 4.90 Smarty Jones 0.70 Yes
2005 Malibu Moonshine 8th 24.00 Afleet Alex 3.30 Yes
2006 Like Now 7th 17.40 Bernardini 12.90
2007 Mint Slewlep 7th 40.10 Curlin 3.40
2008 Macho Again 2nd 39.90 Big Brown 0.20 Yes
2009 Big Drama 5th 10.40 Rachel Alexandra 1.80 Yes
2010 Aikenite 10th 30.00 Lookin At Lucky 2.40
2011 Astrology 3rd 15.50 Shackleford 12.60
2012 Tiger Walk 8th 23.40 I'll Have Another 3.20