clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Preakness Results: Oxbow goes gate-to-wire

A Hall of Fame rider put in a Hall of Fame ride on Oxbow in the 2013 Preakness.

Matthew Stockman

The Triple Crown drought will go one for at least another year as Oxbow races to the lead under Hall of Fame jockey Gary Stevens and rolls gate-to-wire to win the 2013 Preakness. Heavy favorite Orb didn't respond when entering the far turn and could only muster a fourth place finish, joining Barbaro and Super Saver as the worst finish by a Derby winner in the Preakness in the last decade.

Itsmyluckyday rallied to finish second while Mylute rounded out the trifecta.

Oxbow is a three-year-old colt by Awesome Again out of a Cee’s Tizzy mare (Tizamazing), trained by D. Wayne Lukas, owned by Calumet Farm and ridden by Gary Stevens.

Full Order of Finish and beaten lengths:

Place Horse Lengths
1st Oxbow --
2nd Itsmyluckyday 1.75
3rd Mylute 2.25
4th Orb 9.00
5th Goldencents 9.50
6th Departing 10.00
7th Will Take Charge 16.00
8th Govenor Charlie 32.00
9th Titletown Five 47.25

Below are the results and payouts for the 2013 Preakness Stakes:

Horse Win Place Show
6-Oxbow $32.80 $12.00 $6.80
9-Itsmyluckyday $7.80 $5.00
5-Mylute $5.20
Base Bet Combo Payout Pays to -
$1.00 Exacta 6/9 $150.70
$1.00 Trifecta 6/9/5 $1,030.80
$1.00 Superfecta 6/9/5/1 $1,817.80
$1.00 Double 10/6 $278.70
$0.50 Pick 3 6,7,10/10/6 $676.50 3-of-3
$0.50 Pick 4 3/6,7,10/10/6 $4,883.05 4-of-4
$0.50 Pick 5 1,2,6/3/6/,6,10/10/6 $16,685.65 5-of-5